Water Setup

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
blutch

#1: Post by blutch »

I'm a newbie and will be purchasing my first espresso machine soon. I've been reading a lot about water here and must admit that I'm pretty intimidated by all the chemistry. I have zero previous knowledge on this subject. I do not plan to plumb in my machine, nor do I plan to use filtered tap water. I think I would like to start with distilled water and use a recipe to make it taste good but my major concern is that I do the right thing to keep my machine clean and free of scale. I have used TWW packets with distilled water for pour overs, but really don't taste much difference. Although the tap water here tastes good and makes good pour overs, it is pretty hard as evidenced by our drip maker and other appliances that need descaling often. I have not looked up the analysis of our water, nor have I tested it with any kind of test strip system because it all pretty well confuses me, hence my decision to just avoid using tap water all together. I could use some help with my setup so I'm doing it right from the get go. Answers to these questions will really help me. TIA!

1. I've read some of you talk about getting distilled water in 5 gallon containers. I've never seen this, so I'm wondering what kind of places offer it in these quantities. I know I can get RO water in that quantity by filling up a 5 gallon carboy at the grocery store, but I think I'd rather start with distilled. I'd rather not use single gallon containers if possible. I also use distilled water in my CPAP machine, so buying in larger quantities might help there too.