Water filter cartridge advice sodium vs. hydrogen ion exchange

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
lightbar

#1: Post by lightbar »

Hi there

I'm reopening a discussion of an old thread, basically I have a Faema E61 Legend which I want to use at home and I'm looking for cartridge softener. I have seen that both Brita and BWT ( The only 2 company that I know for cartridge softener) both offers a hydrogen ion reduction and a sodium ion reduction which should be :

Na+ with Ca++ e Mg++ for total hardness reduction

H+ with Ca++ e Mg++ for temporary hardness reduction.

I have just completely restored my faema E61 and I would like to maintain it in good status for quite some time but from the other side I have red that having to much sodium inside the water it's not good for health (even of I'm not an expert about that! ). So considering that I have water of about 25 ° F do you think that the hydrogen reduction could be enough to save my faema from limestone deposition ?

lightbar (original poster)

#2: Post by lightbar (original poster) »

Anyone?

Advertisement
jwCrema
Supporter ❤

#3: Post by jwCrema »

What is the chemistry of your water? My view is you need to have a clear understanding of that is before one proceeds down the solution path.

homeburrero
Team HB

#4: Post by homeburrero »

I agree with Jack - depends on your water.

Assuming that your water does need softening, the choice between the two types of cation exchange softeners is highly dependent on the carbonate alkalinity and also the sulfate and the chloride levels of your water. See this thread if you haven't already: Warning: Chloride & sulfate levels with weak acid cation softeners (e.g., Everpure Claris)

The key point from the Pentair/Everpure documents is:
• Claris (like other WAC products) is great for water with bicarbonate levels above 100 and low chloride and sulfate levels less than 80ppm and 150 ppm respectively.