Tokyo Tap Water

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
Mike-R

#1: Post by Mike-R »

Anyone in Tokyo have an opinion on the quality of Tokyo tap water for espresso machines? I'm relatively new to the subject of water quality for espresso, so I am posting here in the hopes that someone based in Tokyo has already looked into this.

Not sure if it helps, but here is an interesting article about water hardness in Japan.
https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-021-92949-8

DanoM

#2: Post by DanoM »

I'm in Hokkaido, so I've never dealt with Tokyo water for espresso.

According to Tokyo Water the hardness depends on season and ranges from 50~100mg/l. 100mg might be a little hard and you'll get some scale build up, but manageable. Flavor of Tokyo water is more likely an issue, and you'd probably want some kind of filter system to deal with that, which in turn could also remove some of the hardness too.
https://www.waterworks.metro.tokyo.lg.j ... qa-13.html
https://www.waterworks.metro.tokyo.lg.j ... 0%20mg%2FL

Tokyo has been dealing with summer drought conditions for some time now, and my guess is that would lead to harder water during the dry period. Less flow generally means higher mineralization.
LMWDP #445

homeburrero
Team HB

#3: Post by homeburrero »

Mike-R wrote:Not sure if it helps, but here is an interesting article about water hardness in Japan.
https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-021-92949-8
Excellent article! It does help with the water hardness levels in Tokyo:

It does indicate a total hardness range in the 55 - 85 mg/L ballpark. If you assume that the calcium hardness as well as the carbonate alkalinity is lower than the total hardness, which is reasonable, you have water that has low scaling potential. If you wanted assuredly non-scaling water I think you would want to soften.