Testing Calcium TDS vs Total TDS?

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
Mike-R

#1: Post by Mike-R »

I'm discussing water softening with tech support where I purchased my espresso machine. I had been using an in-tank softener and seeing what may be fast buildup of scale. The rep recommended that I test the softened water periodically to make sure it's following the espresso machine manufacturer's recommendation of 70 ppm total TDS with as little calcium as possible. I was kind of surprised at the suggestion to test my softened water. Measuring TDS is easy enough, I guess, but my understanding is that I would have to send water samples to a lab to get specific breakdown of calcium ions.

Does anyone really send their post-softener water to a lab for analysis? That seems expensive and unnecessary to me. But I admit that I'm new to water chemistry for espresso machines, so I don't really know. Any thoughts or advice?

(Side note: I'm planning to start making my own water, so this will become a moot point. But in about a year I hope to plumb in the machine with an in-line softener, so water chemistry will become relevant again.)

homeburrero
Team HB

#2: Post by homeburrero »

Mike-R wrote:The rep recommended that I test the softened water periodically to make sure it's following the espresso machine manufacturer's recommendation of 70 ppm total TDS with as little calcium as possible. I was kind of surprised at the suggestion to test my softened water. Measuring TDS is easy enough, I guess, but my understanding is that I would have to send water samples to a lab to get specific breakdown of calcium ions.

Does anyone really send their post-softener water to a lab for analysis? That seems expensive and unnecessary to me. But I admit that I'm new to water chemistry for espresso machines, so I don't really know. Any thoughts or advice?