Solis Barista Perfetta - water? filter?

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
dcoplan

#1: Post by dcoplan »

I just got one of these machines and I'm totally new to espresso. I live in Southern California where the water is pretty hard. This machine includes a filter to deal with varying degrees of hardness as well as the option to not use it at all. Convenience says use the filter and normal tap water. Prudence says buy filtered water but that's kind of a hassle and I don't love the idea of continually buying plastic containers.

1. Does anyone with this machine use hard tap water with the filter?
2. If you use filtered water do you still use the filter or not?

Any other thoughts / advice much appreciated!

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

Let me guess, the shower head in your bath has some white crust on it.

If it's doing that at around 80-90°F, it will be dumping all that and more into the insides of your machine at 195° in the brew chamber, and even worse in the steam circuit.

Filtered water, with almost no exceptions, does nothing around removing the minerals that cause scale.

I'd read through the Water subsection on "non-scaling" water. There are several ways to prepare this from RO or distilled water using no more than a couple, readily available ingredients. A couple gallon, glass jugs can be used to ferry demineralized water from a local bulk dispenser. Here near San Francisco, Whole Foods has RO/demineralized for something like $0.59 a gallon.

homeburrero
Team HB

#3: Post by homeburrero »

Jeff wrote:Filtered water, with almost no exceptions, does nothing around removing the minerals that cause scale.