Need a water solution advice (high chlorides)

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
MonLon

#1: Post by MonLon »

Hi guys,

This is my first post here, although I've been a reader of HB for many years.

I'd appreciate tips and advice for a water solution for my espresso machine.
I own a Londinium-R, which is plumbed-in and I'm having trouble getting good water values. I assume this is probably one of the reasons I am able to get rather good (but not great) tasting coffee.

I am drinking mainly third wave lighter roasts (ranging between Nordic to medium-light - depending on where I buy the coffee). I started playing with water options when I noticed the effect water had on the taste of my coffee, but only in the last few days, after doing some reading here did I realize that I have a more serious issue with my water - Chlorides. :?

I was previously not aware of this factor and its effect on corrosion; my problem is probably even worse as the water I am currently using has acid pH. I tried to read other posts but got a little lost with figuring out a solution that will solve both taste and limescale/corrosion issues.

My municipality data for the tap water (although it seems to be 2 year-old data, so I do not know how much I can trust this) are:
Weighted: Min: Max:
Calcium as Ca (mg/l): 76 66 102
Magnesium as Mg (mg/l): 26 22 39
Hardness as CaCO3 (mg/l): 299 252 416
Chlorides as Cl (mg/l): 89 66 101
Sulfate as SO4 (mg/l): 16.6 12.7 19.4
Aluminum (ug/l): 9.1 7.2 10.7
Copper as Cu (ug/l): 0.4 0.2 0.7
Iron total as Fe (ug/l): 6.5 6.0 6.9
Sodium as Na (mg/l): 46 34 50
Zinc as Zn (mg/l): 16.1 13.4 18.6
Dissolved matter as 180 (mg/l): 444 380 575