Making the change from Volvic to home RO water.

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
Wattbe

#1: Post by Wattbe » Jun 12, 2019, 10:24 am

Hi there,

I've been using Volvic water in my espresso machines for the last 5 years. I've never had an issue with scale by using it but my current machine started to show signs that it might have some scale buildup on the steam boiler heating element. The issue, a constant 'fizzing' noise, was discussed at length in another thread over in the 'repairs' forum.
When I removed the element for inspection, there was slight scale buildup evident, nothing much and to be expected based on Jim's insanely long post.

Long story short, I descaled the steam boiler and have now made the switch to a counter top RO system - the Osmio Zero, based on recommendations over at coffeeforums.co.uk
It produces water at around 30-40ppm and then uses a remineralisation cartridge to add 20ppm to give a total, as measured by my TDS meter, of 61ppm.
I also tested the alkalinity using a KH/alkalinity test kit which gave a result of 45ppm and the PH using a digital meter backed up with those simple test strips of around 6.8.

The reason I'm putting all this down is because I've read a fair amount on the subject, and not being a chemist, I think that I have a basic understanding of what I'm trying to achieve.
My only concern was that the water might be too acidic and cause corrosion in the long run (I have stainless steel boilers with copper plumbing). I've read from respected posters on here and elsewhere that it could be risky having an alkalinity below 50ppm which mine is.
Is it worth me trying to raise it with a touch of bicarbonate of soda or is it close enough that it won't be an issue?