Help with water quality

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
geraldk

#1: Post by geraldk »

Hey everyone, I'm new here but have been lurking for a few days and have found great info so far! I'm fairly new to making espresso but have a new machine on the way and am super excited!

I'm trying to make sure our water is ok or find out what I need to do to treat it as I want to avoid descaling a dual boiler with rotary pump and want the best tasting coffee of course. I've spent hours online but find the information really confusing. I did get a lengthy detailed report from our municipality and have listed some data from the report below. I would appreciate any advice you would have. Also I can post any other specifics off the report if needed.

Everything is reported in mg/L
Chlorine, Total - 0.49
Chlorine, Free - 0.32
Hardness (from Dissolved Ca and Mg) Hardness (as CaCO3) - 81.3
Calcium (Ca)-Total - 22.9
Magnesium (Mg)-Total - 6.13
Potassium (K)-Total - 2.59
Sodium (Na)-Total - 139
pH - 7.72
Bicarbonate (HCO3) - 386
Alkalinity, Total (as CaCO3) - 317
Chloride (Cl) - 25.1
Chlorate - 0.078
Chlorite - <0.050

Thank you!

Gerald

homeburrero
Team HB

#2: Post by homeburrero »

You have very high alkalinity (317 mg/L CaCO3 equivalent) and relatively low hardness, which is uncommon.* If you have a reservoir, and can get purified (distilled, de-ionized, RO) water I think your best bet for a non-scaling water would be to mix 1 part charcoal filtered tapwater with about 4 parts distilled. That would give you a healthy alkalinity of about 59 mg/L, and a low total hardness of about 16 mg/L with a calcium hardness of 11 mg/L, which should be nonscaling. And the chloride would be diluted down to a nice low 5 mg./L.

For a Cadillac plumb-in system this water would work fine with an RO unit with a blending valve.