Chicago Suburbs and astringency

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
Chingachgook

#1: Post by Chingachgook »

Let me preface this by saying I would consider myself a seasoned enthusiast. I've been brewing and home roasting for four years. My goal remains unchanged : enjoying the craft and drinking good coffee. I'm always eager to learn but I wouldn't call myself an avid tinkerer either. Hence why I still don't own a TDS meter.. I know, I really should... :oops:

I recently moved house and have been stumped by problematic pour over and Moka brews. Everything has been incredibly sour. My previous home was in an area known for very hard water but the house had an RO system in the basement. In my new place I've been using straight tap water, with no RO system. The water here seems fairly soft by my standards, based on the city water report there's obviously mineral content but I have no problems with deposit buildup on dishes, etc.

I tried purchasing RO water from Whole Foods, but same problem; incredibly sour light roasts, lesser so with dark roasts but still noticeable. I use a stovetop hario kettle, if that's useful information. Finally, I tried a MUCH finer grind on the Niche -- finer than I've ever attempted for pour over. It was a slow brew - about 4 minutes but the results were SO much better. It still lacks a certain mouthfeel that I am accustomed to, but maybe I'm used to brewing with really, really hard water? My only other thought pertains to a botched roast and better water shining light on that.

pham

#2: Post by pham »

I'm based out of the chicago suburbs. My suburb gets lake michigan water, which is quite good on tap for drinking but is not amazing (but not horrid) for coffee. For very light roasts, it's quite dull and muddy.