Any experience with electronic water descaling/softening systems?

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
mchinnas

#1: Post by mchinnas »

Hi All,

I'm new to the home espresso hobby and really appreciate all the info from this board. Tried searching for this topic and couldn't find anything so creating a new post.

In preparation for my new espresso machine's arrival, I have been testing. my water and have a question. My water seems to be around 100ppm using test strips and 175 using a cheap $20 TDS meter. So not really that hard. However, I have had to clean out the filter in my shower head every few months so I assume it might be on the higher end here. So, I've gone down the rabbit hole of figuring out the best approach to soften my water. I've already tried to get a detailed water analysis from mu city with no luck. Seems like they really don't want folks to know! :roll:

I have seen systems advertised here in the US that use some sort of electronic means to change the water in the main line coming into the home. One site http://www.calmat-usa.com describes the method of action as "changing the crystallization process of the liquid calcium and this way the hard scale loses its adhesive power"

Has anyone used one of these? Would this be a viable alternative to softening and/or descaling? Could it affect the taste of my espresso?

Thanks!
MHC

another_jim
Team HB

#2: Post by another_jim »

1) Your water is just about perfect for coffee & espresso
2) Electronic softeners are a BS scam.
Jim Schulman

Randy G.

#3: Post by Randy G. »