Am I damaging my espresso machine using my water?

Water analysis, treatment, and mineral recipes for optimum taste and equipment health.
gingi

#1: Post by gingi »

Hi there guy.

First, kindly accept my apologies if this topic was discussed before.

I am a busy physician and a proud owner of Profitec 700 PRO + Niche zero.

Currently, when I have time to brew espresso, I use filtered Brita water that are filling in a tank with an Oscar resin filter. When getting the Oscar I read that it needs at least 3 hours to do its magic on the water so usually I let it stay for that long prior to brewing. Recently, a friend told me that my water is very bad and it might damage my machine; mortified, I rushed into buying a TDS meter from Amazon.

Surprisingly, the TDS values in PPM are: 156 (tap), 150 (Brita, filtered), 145 (Brita filtered planed in the tank with Oscar).

My questions are:

-Is that range sufficient / safe for brewing espresso (a short Google search says that it does, but I decided to ask the experts here)

-In not, what should I consider if I want to improve the quality of the water?

-If there is not a substantial difference between the tap and the filtered water, what does it mean? does the Brita not filtering anything, or the probe dose not check for filtered materials?

-Is there an affordable, cheap solution to achieve the perfect water at home?

Thank you very much in advance for everyone who is willing to help me.
Gingi

Advertisement
jerbear00

#2: Post by jerbear00 »

By safety I assume you are referring to increasing your machine's longevity. Most on here are more concerned with reducing scale buildup. For that you will want to check hardness.

If you are beginning to obsess over the perfect flavor then water is certainly important but that is another rabbit hole.

Your TDS is fine. One other item you may want to check is ph.

Scott Rao is a great resource among others.

Ballpark
1. TDS 100-200
2. Hardness 2-6 grains
3. pH 7-8