Why do we make double espressos only 30 ml?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
EspressoMyself

#1: Post by EspressoMyself »

So I'm still new to the game of espresso. I generally follow the recipe 1:2 recipe... 18 g of ground coffee yields approximately 36 grams of espresso. So I've been following the crowd :-)

I guess my dumb question is this: how come we're not doing double shots were the end result is two fluid ounces of espresso a single shot is supposed to be one fluid ounce?

Thanks in advance.

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

Classic question, literally

The "official" Italian definition of espresso involved 7 g for a single and 14 g for a double. It then mixes weight and volume when defining the output. In the time since those definitions were written, at least American practice went to 20 g or more for a double and home practice shifted back to around 18 g. The problems with volume as a measure, such as how much crema and how long has it been sitting before measurement, gave way to the more rational weight-to-weight formulation of ratio. While you may find some roasters still using weight to volume in their recipes, weight to weight is the current recommendation among enthuiasts.

EspressoMyself (original poster)

#3: Post by EspressoMyself (original poster) replying to Jeff »

Thanks for the detailed reply.

Now I'm just wondering aloud. Didn't anyone back then think "hey, I have an idea, 1 oz is 28 g approximately. Why don't we just shoot for 56 g which is 2 oz. And get rid of the whole volume measurement!"

I had a breville touch impress for a while. It output whatever it's software told it to output... For either singule or double shot. It would always output about 58 grams (because I weigh every shot) The double shots.

Jeff
Team HB

#4: Post by Jeff »