Which variable to check - brew pressure or time?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Tomnaar

#1: Post by Tomnaar »

Disclaimer: I'm a newbie, just started brewing my own espressos at home. But I did watch a ton of videos, read a lot of pages on espresso and am trying to follow the advice that I found. The issue is that the recommendations are contradictory.

I have a Solis Barista Perfetta Plus machine, which has a built in manometer. As far as I understand, the ideal pressure for an espresso is 9 bar, and it should take 25 to 30 seconds to brew. But I won't be able to reach both: I can either get close to the ideal time (e.g. 29 sec at 13 bar) or I can choose a coarser grind and get to a pressure of 10 bar in 17 s. I haven't tried an even coarser grind to reduce the pressure further as the brewing time is already very short (and yes, I measure it from the press of the button).

So the question is: should I watch the pressure or the time? The 29 s shot tasted better for me but the pressure at this setting is about 50% higher than normal so this can't be right. And being a newbie, I wouldn't necessarily trust my own opinion about the taste at this point :D

I settled at a dose of 10 g for a single shot. I'm not actually sure if this is the correct amount (couldn't find anything on the internet), but it seems to fit the measuring spoon that came with the machine.

Advertisement
ira
Team HB

#2: Post by ira »

Better espresso machines would have a pressure reducing element between the pump and the basket reducing the pressure to 9bar or so which would make you're life much easier. without that, if you ran the machine off something like a router speed control so you could lower the power for the time you're pulling the shot, you might do better. I know little or nothing about that machine, but either that element is mis-adjusted or it doesn't have one and I'm guessing it doesn't have one.