VST basket size and grind volume are at odds

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
BrainZaps

#1: Post by BrainZaps »

I find myself using less coffee for VST (20g) basket recommendations and getting better shots. This confuses me.

I find it odd that VST lists a basket size by weight, when the volume can change dramatically while dialing in the grind size. For example, with a dark french arabica, the VST (20g) works fine; but with a medium roast (Lavazza Dek), I find the VST recommendations are off by 10% in order to get something that isn't wildly over extracted (e.g. 60 second shot time!).

I realize it is impossible to spec ground coffee volume, but since the basket varies by volume, this seems at odds.

I'm using a Profitec Pro 500.

Any thoughts on this, other than "do what works best for you"? I'm new to this, I've only pulled about 360 shots (4 a day for about three months) but I've only used two different types of beans.

baldheadracing
Team HB

#2: Post by baldheadracing »

BrainZaps wrote:"do what works best for you"
You've got it 100% right!

The size recommendation is just that - a recommendation. The recommendation might be stronger if you were using the same kinds of commercial machines and the same kinds of blends that were popular when the baskets were developed, but it would still be a recommendation. VST can't account for the differences in how much headspace is available with the domestic group used in a Pro300 vs. an E-61 vs. a LM, etc.

Also, it isn't clear to me - are you using the same grind setting for both coffees? Decafs typically need a finer grind.

Enjoy the journey!
-"Good quality brings happiness as you use it" - Nobuho Miya, Kamasada

another_jim
Team HB

#3: Post by another_jim »