Total Newbie - Took me a few days to figure out frothing...

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Kenyon1976

#1: Post by Kenyon1976 »

After a few tries I had the routine down (warm coffee cup, heat coffee extractor, etc.) but couldn't figure out the frothing. The language was a bit convoluted and a little misleading in some videos and forums. Three O'Clock position, you have to find the right milk, blah blah blah. I even went to a barista who told me that I had a home machine so that was the problem, steam wand isn't commercial grade..

Then I watched a simple video (finally found the right one). Half pitcher, chilled, milk isn't critical but 1-2% is probably best. Put wand in just below surface, when the steel cup gets warm to the touch move wand so top part touches side of pitcher and you get swirling effect. Run until temperature is just hot enough to be unpleasant to hold (in the bar they used a thermometer, not required in my opinion). I got perfect micro foam on my first, second and third attempt.

So excited, next is latte art!

guijan12

#2: Post by guijan12 »

Welcome Peter.
That's how it works: trial and error. :P

And absorbing wisdom from the internet, of course. :idea:
Regards,

Guido

jwCrema
Supporter ❤

#3: Post by jwCrema »

I am still working on it 5 years later. It's a journey, not a destination.

Radio.YYZ

#4: Post by Radio.YYZ »

I am still not 100% on frothing and art, but i only do about 155ml of milk everytime.

Chris Baca did a video recently on this, its a good one:
Good Coffee: Technique/Knowledge > Grinder > Beans > Water > Machine

Bluenoser

#5: Post by Bluenoser »

Kenyon1976 wrote:. I got perfect micro foam on my first, second and third attempt.

So excited, next is latte art!
Grin. Show me a picture of a great tulip and Rosetta. Your definition of perfect may be redefined. I might have been a slow learner.

DaveB

#6: Post by DaveB replying to Bluenoser »