Super newbie trying to figure out double vs. single shots

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
dpierce

#1: Post by dpierce »

Total newbie here, so I apologize if this sounds like a dumb rant lol. I got my first espresso machine this week - a secondhand Delonghi Caffe Italia. It's pretty basic - I've got to grind and dose the coffee externally which has been a fun/frustrating learning process. The machine came with a regular shaped basket and a more funnel shaped one, which the lady told me was a double and a single. So I've been using the "double" basket and have been practising, but so far failed to nail the perfect shot.

After watching a bunch of videos, I learned the ideal process is apparently 18g of coffee, extracting for 27 seconds, to make 36g of espresso. I assume this is for a double shot. But I've also read that a single is ~20g and a double is ~60g which just makes it more confusing. Anyway once I tried to replicate that formula, I realized the max my "double" basket can hold is about 12g - meaning it must be a single sized basket?

I tried to follow the formula anyway and got 12g of coffee to make 30g of espresso (about 1oz) in 27 seconds. This seemed a bit off but the coffee seemed to taste ok. If I can consistently replicate this I'd be decently satisfied. I'm wondering if there are any tricks to getting a double shot out of this basket, like am I able to just extend the extraction time somehow without ruining the coffee? Or do I need to invest in a new portafilter/basket? Can someone please explain what I'm doing wrong :)

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Nunas »