Suddenly I've lost the ability to create latte art. What am I doing wrong?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Wawab

#1: Post by Wawab »

Ok, I've been using my espresso machines for 3-4 years, first an expobar, now a profitec. My skills making good milk for art has completely died, I must be doing something wrong. Here is what has changed prior to this happening:

- New machine: profitec (cant be this. . .it is better in every way)
- Started roasting my own espresso blend with hottop.
- blend: 25% Monsoon malabar to just before second crack, 25% monsoon malabar to mid-second crack, 25% nicaragua, 25% brazil (both to mid second crack. Flavor-wise, this blend is perfect to my palate for americano in the morning. (I recently added 10% robusta to try to thicken the crema, but it adds too much bitterness to me)

When I pour i just can't seem to get the microfoam to come to the surface to create a nice art, or at all.

I don't know if it is the espresso or the milk. I used to be able to do it very well.

Can someone suggest any things to try?

I realize this is a 1st-world problem, but I want to be able to do this for my guests.

thx

Advertisement
spearfish25

#2: Post by spearfish25 »

Can you post some pics? Is there crema on the espresso prior to pouring milk? If so, then try stretching a bit more. Key is 'a bit'. The Profitec is a strong steamer and the window for too much and too little stretching is small. Then a lot of focus on texturizing to ensure a swift whirlpool without any more aeration. The issue for me has always been on the milk side and never the espresso side.

zapa

#3: Post by zapa »

Pics would help a lot. My guess is that your milk is not textured correctly or your pouring technique needs to be changed a little.

Wawab (original poster)

#4: Post by Wawab (original poster) »