Steaming Oatly oat milk issues

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
clokwork

#1: Post by clokwork »

I'm fairly new to simple latte art. I find when I steam my oat milk, I tend to get too much froth. I assume I'm introducing too much air. My technique is to put in just the very tip of the wand off center. I steam until my hand gets quite uncomfortable to the heat. I get a good swirl going each time. The power of the GS3 quickly adds perceived volume to the pitcher due to the power, so I was thinking I didn't have to lower the wand into the oat milk any further.

I tap the pitcher on the counter to get rid of excess bubbles and swirl. I pour fairly gently from about maybe 3 inches until I want to make a heart and then get the pitcher spout very close.

Do any flaws immediately stick out in my process?

Jaroslav
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Jaroslav »

Is it the barista edition?

Depending on the pitcher (I use the one that came with my Linea), I like to submerge at least half of tip (if not the whole) tiny bit left off centre, full blast and let it swirl, then really gently let a few small surps of air in by pulling the pitcher down just a few millimeters. It may seem not enough at first, but will result in just enough foam. Sometimes when I'm too sleepy, I slip the pitcher too low and let too much air in at once, it gets foamy. This takes some practice and I can't recommend enough to stick with one pitcher.

Not like I'm some latte artist but it took a lot of practice before I could get nice oat milk constantly :) I also recommend Califia barista edition (just recently became available here in Ireland) over Oatly. The taste is much more neutral, Oatly is overly oaty and sweet.