Sour espressos

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
seolinogue

#1: Post by seolinogue »

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the coffee world. I just opened a new coffee shop in Colombia (Cartagena, to be more specific) and I'm very happy that I can contribute to my country, in terms of a good cup of coffee. So the thing is, I'm having a really hard time when it comes to brewing a nice espresso. I have nice equipment to be honest, Nuova Simonelli Appia II espresso machine and a Victoria Arduino Mythos One grinder. Thing is I'm constantly getting sour espressos, even tho our customers at my shop doesn't seem to care/notice because they all leave with a smile on their face. Anyways, I'm dialing the grinder in such a way that I get a very sweet flavorful espresso, but an hour later I start tasting this sour-tingling note that wasn't there. So I have to battle for a long time trying to obtain a good espresso.

I know underextracted espressos are sour and that a grind too fine can achieve sour results, too. So I have a couple of questions:

1) The pressure gauge of my machine is fluctuating between 0.75 bars and 1.1 bars hence I'm asking myself if this is affecting my brew temperature. My machine doesn't have PID. I measured the temperature on the portafilter with the group running and its showing me 92 celsius.

2) I'm altering extraction time before any other variable since it will not alter the other ones. If the sourness is not gone then I change my dose and finally, if that doesn't do the trick, I change my grind setting to finer so I cant extract more flavor from my fresh grinded beans.