Should/can I freeze ground coffee?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
krby

#1: Post by krby »

I'm new to home espresso, machine shows up in the next day or two. Grinder shows up Mon or Tues. I'm impatient, so I went down to a Voyager Coffee nearby and got an espresso grind of about a 1/2lb of their Cascade blend to get me started.

When I have a grinder, I plan to store beans in Airscape canisters and single dose. I was planning on freezing beans if it turns out we don't go thru them fast enough.

For now, ground coffee is an Airscape, away from light and air (well, not a vacuum bag, but...something) I know it's not going to last nearly as long as beans, but I thought I would ask here if I should freeze it?

bznelson91
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by bznelson91 »

I think there's a lot of religion behind it :) My answer will cover only filter coffee, my espresso home journey hasn't started just yet (but soon).

Personally, I do so, mostly because there are only two drinkers in the house (maybe 4 or 5 cups per day between the two of us), yet we like to have numerous coffees on hand, we don't like to drink the same thing every day, or even every cup during one day. I keep the coffees in the bags they came in for the most part, using a wire tie "clamp" if needed to ensure good closure. I then keep the bags in a fully enclosed (but not sealed) Hefty plastic container in the freezer.

I ensure that each bag has rested at room temp for at least a week post-roast, usually a little more, or as recommended by the roaster (e.g. Prodigal suggests 3 - 4 weeks). After that, I put it in the box, and just take out a few doses worth at a time for room temp storage. Those doses I keep in individual Ziploc bags in a dark, cool place until use.