Pulling shots at 14 bar

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks.
crwper

#1: Post by crwper »

I recently bought my first home espresso equipment: a Gaggia Classic Pro and Eureka Mignon Specialita. I am a tinkerer, so I have big plans for the Gaggia. I've got an OPV spring kit on the way from Shades of Coffee, and a PID controller coming from Banggood. I design electronics for a living, so one of the things that drew me to the Gaggia was the active modding community.

In the meantime, though, I'm temperature surfing and pulling shots with the stock OPV and double basket (non-pressurized).

Typical advice for a 9 bar system seems to be to adjust grind so that the pull is 25-30 seconds with a 1.5 to 3 ratio of output to input. Lots of sources seem to say things will be different with 14 bars, but I haven't been able to find any specific advice.

While I'm waiting for mods to come in, I'd love to hear any tips and tricks you all have for pulling the best shots I can with the stock 14 bar OPV. How should I adjust conventional technique? On a technical level, how does the higher pressure affect extraction?

Thanks!

baldheadracing
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by baldheadracing »

The higher pressures work best with traditional Northern Italian espresso blends in my experience.

(Pretty much all the espresso machine manufacturers who set their vibration pump machines' pressures "too high" are from Northern Italy.)

Once you get down to lower pressures, then Southern Italian blends and a wider variety of roasts like "Modern Espresso" will be more accessible.

Enjoy!

Aida Battle: Indigo Reserve from world renowned Finca Kilimanjaro in El Salvador
Sponsored by Aida Battle
SandraF

#3: Post by SandraF »

I doubt while pulling a shot you'll get to 14 bars of pressure. It's marketing to sell an espresso machine. Most people making espresso are shooting somewhere between 6-9 bar.

Someone with better knowledge of electronics will come along here shortly and clarify.

K7