Profitec Pro 600 and Happy Mug Bigfoot Blend - Sour

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Wigglesworth2.0

#1: Post by Wigglesworth2.0 »

So I'm brand new to this. I've left the stock settings on my machine and have been playing with the niche zero grind between 12-14. I noticed the stock tamper is a bit small and there are usually some grounds hugging the wall after I tamp. Not sure if that matters?

My espressos are super sour. Generally, sour means underextracted right? I'm just not sure how that's possible with such a low setting. Also, with a 20 gram shot in the basket, it takes 8-10 seconds for first drops to hit the cup and about 37 seconds to get 40 grams of liquid out.

Any tips are appreciated.

Bluenoser

#2: Post by Bluenoser »

You are likely tasting "super bitter".. or just "super strong" .....

Two adjustments you can make: 1) smaller dose. 2) coarser grind

grind coarser so you get 40 g in 28-30 seconds and compare. But you have a big dose there.. and so it is going to be strong and maybe the strength adds to the bitterness perception.

I'd also try to dose less .. 16-17g.. aim to get a 32g extraction in 26-32 seconds.. Then adjust 3 numbers coarser to really taste sour..

Play with these to see how the taste changes and adjust until you get what you like.

You'll go through some beans, but you need to in order to taste the wide range of extractions.

slipchuck

#3: Post by slipchuck »

Wigglesworth2.0 wrote:So I'm brand new to this. I've left the stock settings on my machine and have been playing with the niche zero grind between 12-14. I noticed the stock tamper is a bit small and there are usually some grounds hugging the wall after I tamp. Not sure if that matters?