Pour or texture? Where is my latte art failing

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
rover24

#1: Post by rover24 »

I am new to latte art and I'm trying to understand where my shortcomings are. I seem to be unable to pour the thin clean art, I only have luck pouring heavy fat art as pictured.
Do you think I am pouring to fast during that part or does it look like a milk texture issue?

Zoey

#2: Post by Zoey »

How about uploading a video of you steaming and pouring some art (good or bad)? A video would be worth a thousand words, and might alleviate some conjecture.

spearfish25

#3: Post by spearfish25 »

Over stretching or too little texturizing leads to thick foam on the top of your pitcher. It's the thick foam that leads to blobs and lack of finesse. Try stretching less and texturizing more. Do it to the extreme where you can't get any design at all because you've over-compensated towards hot milk. Then start to add a second or two of more stretching. You'll start to see you're able to get more fine designs. Realize though that I'm far from an expert. I still cannot figure out how Dristan can pour such thick white foam with his degree of finesse and control. Truly an art.

Zanderfy

#4: Post by Zanderfy »

You might also want to consider temperature. If you're steaming too hot, you might find that the milk separates a little too easily and creates those blobbish masses. I've heard on these forums that latte art competitors steam to really cool temperatures to keep the milk as flexible as possible.

weebit_nutty

#5: Post by weebit_nutty »

Well, I'd say your texture needs work but it's certainly not bad as you clearly are able pour something.

Less stretching and more texturing should get you finer milk.
You're not always right, but when you're right, you're right, right?

rover24 (original poster)

#6: Post by rover24 (original poster) »

Thanks. I will give the suggestions a try this evening.

caffeinatedrebel