Please tell me it gets easier

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
kmgiants

#1: Post by kmgiants »

Frustrated newbie here. After studying up on here and elsewhere, I acquired a used Rancilio Silvia with PID and a barely used Mignon Silenzio. I've used the grinder daily, primarily for french press (set on its coarsest setting) and then using it every couple of days on about 3.5 turns finer for espresso. I've backflushed the Silvia once now. The grinder has ground to a halt twice in the past 2 weeks and seems to work again after taking in almost entirely apart and cleaning out.

I've not yet had 2 consecutive shots come out nearly the same. I would be thrilled if I could get 2 doubles in a row that were within even .5 ounces of each other. But nope.

It's a lot of new gear all at once and a lot of variables to try to assess. I realize that. I've tried to reduce those by using a scale, trying to be consistent with things. But I'm just not having any luck. (and this shouldn't be about luck, right?)

Everything I've read seems to point to 3 main things: grinder (and related settings/amount, etc.), dosing, tamping. Those last 2 are human and so most likely to be inconsistent it seems to me. The scale should take care of the dosing part. Tamping, I think I'm being consistent. That leaves the grind/er. Is my attempt to use the Silenzio for 2 completely different brew methods what's dooming me? I love that it's quiet, and it's been good for french press. But if I can't get a consistent espresso grind out of the thing and have to tear it down every 2 weeks it's pretty ridiculous.

I'm considering keeping the Silenzio for the french press and then getting a Baratza 270 for espresso. I've heard it's loud but since it's not stepless, I'm hoping for a more repeatable/consistent setting AND it seems like it's low retention and would be good for single dosing.