Pitcher size for latte art?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Capac

#1: Post by Capac »

Hey,

I was wondering what pitcher size is the best for pouring latte art? The smaller the better?

MNate

#2: Post by MNate »

I'll jump in to see how many answers I get right! (I'm far from an expert):

-size of pitcher mainly matters for getting the microfoam right. Ideal size is so when you fill it with milk it's only about a third to half full.
-Shape of the spout makes a difference on the pour but it's a bit personal preference and what you're going for. Decent has two spout types and they do pour different.
-Shape of the pitcher makes some difference but I've found this a little specific to the machine. For my Silvia I find the Toroid pitcher to help provide motion to the swirl since the machine is less powerful and only one hole, whereas my other machine with a five-hole tip and steam all day does better with straight sides, for me.

And always, there is personal preference and skill makes up for most anything!

emradguy
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by emradguy »

Yup, skill/practice is the ultimate game changer. As for best pitcher size it depends on how powerful your machine steams, how much milk you want for your drink(s), and how much milk waste you find acceptable.