Optimal result

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Thebigm

#1: Post by Thebigm »

Hi. I'm a complete beginner in the espresso world. I just bought a Smeg ecf01 50's look espresso maker which suites our economy and kitchen. To accompany it I have a manual Peugeot L'Abre grinder. One of my friends got a much more expensive machine (5 times the price of my Smeg). He gave me a delicious double shot espresso today with the most lovely "oily" texture ever. I got the same beans with me home to try in my less expensive machine. The result was good, but lacked the delicate oily texture. I use setting 0,5 on my grinder (0-5 where 0 is finest). I also use one spoon of coffee. My grinder certainly "felt" the oily beans so it was a bit more difficult to grind. Had to shake it a few times. My question is; could the lack of this delicious oily texture just be my way cheaper machine, or could it be I should grind it at setting 0=finest? Or perhaps more coffee or more tamping? Sorry for this novice question, but I so much want to know :). Thanks I'm advance. Br Marius

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

It is unlikely that you will be able to get close to what your friend provided with your equipment, even with the same coffee. The grinder is a critical part of the chain. The Peugeot grinders are not known for providing espresso-quality grinds. Grinding for espresso is much more challenging than for a cup of filter coffee as the grinds need to be finer and the ability to make tiny adjustments in size is much more important. The Smeg coffee machines are generally designed for using "supermarket" coffee in a pressurized basket. They usually lack the features needed to make classic espresso in a non-pressurized basket, such as an OPV that controls the pressure during extraction. You will be able to make some strong coffee, but not espresso as one usually can get from a better grinder and a machine designed for a non-pressurized basket.