Oily stains in my espresso - no crema

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
tatillo

#1: Post by tatillo »

I'm Italian, so I'm new to espresso because in my country it's easy to find a good one. But since two years my wife bought me a Napolitana from La Pavoni because she was seeing me too home sick. At first I got some Lavazza Crema e Gusto and after a 2-month trial and error process with grinding and tampering and dosing I got to a decent espresso.

But then a friend who likes roasting his coffee offered his instead -- and then the trouble begun. It took me another month to get to a decent espresso. And then the coffee ran out.

I then started over with the Lavazza but no crema this time! I decided I needed some more freshly roasted coffee so I started experimenting with it. I bought some Sumatra Mandheling at Zombie Runner in Palo Alto and then a bulk one "Espresso Sierra" at WholeFoods. Same result: the espresso comes with oily stains on top and no crema. See picture.

So my broader question is -- why is this happening to me? Is it the machine? Is it my not maintaining it well (beside cleaning every accessible part I don't know what to do -- des along?)? And then -- more granular question is -- why do I get those oily stains and no crema?

Thank you so much for your help, gentlemen!

Dpablo

#2: Post by Dpablo »

Hi, it sounds like your grind is too fine or you're using too much coffee. Is it taking a long time to extract your coffee? Are you grinding your coffee fresh at home?

forbeskm

#3: Post by forbeskm »

Nothing at my whole foods has a roast date.

I'd find some fresh roasted from somewhere local. My guess is the whole foods is dated, lavazza, the same.

I would say old beans and possibly grind.

tatillo (original poster)

#4: Post by tatillo (original poster) »

forbeskm wrote:I would say old beans and possibly grind.
Possibly. Thank you.