No crema on my espresso

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
stalemonkey

#1: Post by stalemonkey »

Hi everyone,

I am new to using an espresso machine and still learning the techniques. I tried to make an espresso with my Breville barista express but I could not get any crema and the coffee came out very watery.
Here's my setup: I used 18g of lightly roasted beans, double espresso basket, finest grind setting. The extraction is so fast, around 16s for 36g yield. I could only get a very thin layer of crema. The beans are roasted on 4 May but I just opened it this week. What should I do to get a better espresso? Thanks!

Smitward

#2: Post by Smitward »

Three things to think about.

Try fresher beans and see if that fixes the problem. This sounds like behavior of stale beans

A bottomless portafilter is really helpful to see if you have a lot of channeling which could also be a cause based off the description.

Lastly Light roasted beans generally have a thinner crema and require a finer grind in my experience, but what you're saying is running really fast. There are folks who favor turbo shots for light roasted beans, how did the shots taste?

-Brandon

tompoland

#3: Post by tompoland »

A few things to try but it would be helpful to know the roast date (agree with Brandon they may be stale) and depth (Light, medium, dark).

In the meantime you can try grinding a lot finer.
A little obsessed.

Pressino
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by Pressino »

I used 18g of lightly roasted beans, double espresso basket, finest grind setting. The extraction is so fast, around 16s for 36g yield.

If that's the case, your grinder is not able to grind finely enough.

macal425

#5: Post by macal425 »