Newbie using a presso - need help with troubleshooting shots!

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks.
guosh

Postby guosh » Mar 28, 2011, 7:20 am

Hi everyone,

I'm really new to the whole world of Baristas, espressos and basically coffee appreciation - I had my eyes opened a week ago upon visiting a nice small cafe in Singapore, and have been trying to read up as much as I can at the moment.

I thought I'd start from the basics and the use of a Presso to extract a single shot of Espresso. However, after reading through this site I've not been able to replicate anything even close to the shots that everyone here has posted.

At present I'm using freshly roasted beans entitled 'Colombia' from my local cafe which they helped fine grind for me and tamping it using David Schomer's pressing technique. Water has been freshly boiled and left to cool slightly (about a minute at a room temperature of 36C). After which I'd fill it to the double shot level and extract a single shot worth in about 30 seconds with a smooth press of the levers.

My problem is - my shot is entirely black, thin and with little or no crema. What can I do to improve? Is it a pressure problem? Because I see cracks on the top of my puck after removing the portafilter from the machine (the bottom's fine though).

Any suggestions before I suffer an overdose of caffeine from testing shots on myself? :mrgreen:

aecletec

Postby aecletec » Mar 28, 2011, 7:46 am

Coffee really needs to be ground within a few minutes of use. Otherwise you can kiss crema goodbye...
The crema isn't particularly spectacular on my presso (well, it can be but then the flavour suffers) but the flavour is very close (to my palate) to what I get in a cafe using their coffee.

The water cools in a presso quite fast, it acts like a large heat sink. I would not let the water sit at all, I pour from a rolling boil into a pre-heated presso.