Newbie espresso maker side channeling

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
StSparky

#1: Post by StSparky »

Hello everybody,

As stated I am a newbie at espresso, but love this forum, it has taught me a bunch.

Before I ask my question, I have searched the internet for help on my problems and have read and watched a bunch of article and videos about tamping and distribution. A lot on HB as well. But I am not sure what else to try. Moka pot and french press are how I have been making coffee at home for years.

I have just bought a Rancilio Silvia Pro X. My issue I think, seems to be a result of channeling, almost exclusively on the sides of the basket, I have a comandante grinder which I have had for a while, I bought it for my moka pots etc, I upgraded it to red clix a while ago before deciding to buy my espresso machine. But from what I understand it, despite being a stepped grinder, it should do ok for espresso other than the work required. Maybe once my wallet has recovered I will look at an electric grinder.

I am using the baskets which came with the Silvia, 40-100-108 which from what I have researched is an 18g IMS basket, the single 40-100-106 I have not used much as I have read the singles are harder to use especially for a newbie. I am also using the stock portafilter and 58mm tamp that came stock. I know an open portafilter would help me identify issues easier and I will get one, in the next month or so.

My espresso is very sour almost all the time, I am using fresh beans, roasted less than 6 weeks, ones that I use for moka pot and are said to be suitable for espresso also. I doubt my puck prep is fantastic but I have tried using a home made WDT with cork and some needles. Trying to get even distribution. From what I can see the puck is pretty level, no drastic slants. With my grind I am getting 40g espresso between 23-27 seconds. I have tried to go a bit finer on grind, but no drastic improvements.