New to espresso and every single one is sour

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
CDNCoffeeGuy

#1: Post by CDNCoffeeGuy »

Hi to everyone and I hope that this post is in the right section. I will try to keep my post short and I appreciate any help!

I am new to the world of home espresso machines and after some research I ended up purchasing a Breville Dual Boiler and Niche Zero (I have not taken delivery of the niche yet).

Currently using the Breville Dual Boiler and a Commandante C40 to try to get some decent results and running into every single shot being extremely sour. I have read the guides on here, watched hours of videos. Gone through about 1000 grams of various coffees (roast dates are around 7-10 days ago). I have ground so fine that the machine chokes, ground too coarse so extraction happens too quickly and even when I am able to get around 36 grams of espresso in around 25 seconds (18g starting dose) it is still sour. Tried everything from 17, 18, 18.5, 19, 19.5, 20 gram doses as well.

I am only using the manual button and the pre infusion (pre wetting) is as it is set from the factory. I have tried temperatures from 195 to 203. For tamping and distribution I have the jack leveller and the stock Breville tamper.

My pucks all have the shower screen impression, additionally they come out crumbly.

I am so new at this, I know this is all my fault. I just can't seem to figure out which variables and techniques to change/improve on.

exidrion

#2: Post by exidrion »

What kind of beans? What water are you using? Conventional wisdom says lower the dose and grind finer, at a higher temp. Are you new to espresso? Novice palettes often confuse bitter and sour, sour and bitter. Maybe you just don't like espresso.

CDNCoffeeGuy (original poster)

#3: Post by CDNCoffeeGuy (original poster) replying to exidrion »