Need help with EricS adaptor using flush-and-go technique

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks.
mike01

#1: Post by mike01 » Feb 10, 2010, 11:38 pm

I have been using a HX espresso machine daily for the past 5 years. I upgraded a few months back to a Alex espresso machine so I could plumb-in. I have been pulling shots that I have been pretty happy with using the flush-and-go technique, which I used on my previous machine as well. I would characterize the Alex's behavior at least how I have it setup as a "HX dragon". I have had the curiosity to experiment, so I ordered an EricS adaptor. My pressurestat is set at 1.3 bar at the top of the cycle and I have been targeting a brew temp of 201F with the current blend I am pulling. I have been flushing about 5 seconds past when the water stops flash-boiling (a little over 8 ounces when idle), which also gives me 201F consistently using the styrofoam cup method. I installed the thermometer adaptor today and with my initial testing, I am stopping my flushes around 210F on the thermometer. The temp continues to drop a couple degrees after stopping the flush. I then pull my shot within a few seconds and it usually starts around 206, dropping steadily over the next 6 or 7 seconds and then runs at a pretty steady 202.5F through the rest of the shot. How should I interpret these results and how would this correlate to puck temps? Can I assume 202.5F is what the puck is seeing, or would there be an offset to take into account? This seems to be very different from what I have read from others, so any suggestions or tips on how to improve my techniques or at least interpret the results would be greatly appreciated.

JmanEspresso

#2: Post by JmanEspresso » Feb 11, 2010, 4:57 am

The therm is a few inches above the puck, so, IIRC, the temp you're seeing is 3-4F higher, then what the puck sees.

Further more.. around to 25s mark, during the shot, the therm should be the approximate brew temp.