Need help with consistency on my Breville Dual Boiler

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Kelseyscoffee

#1: Post by Kelseyscoffee »

Hello!

I just recently opened a micro (100sq ft) coffee shop in the front of my dad's chocolate shop. I'm an esthetician by trade but I'm a coffee enthusiast and do it as a hobby. Since the pandemic I thought I can turn this into a little business. But boy I did not realize how hard it is to produce a quality shot of espresso consistently!! One day it's good, the next decent, the next disgusting! I've gotten sour, extremely sour, tolerable, good, bitter, burnt, bland and dry. The whole spectrum.

This is my setup and routine

* Breville Dual Boiler (I know, but it's all I could afford right now)
* Baratza Sette 270 Wi
* Acaia Lunar scale
* Distributor
* WDT tool

I turn on the machine and give it 30-45 minutes to heat up. I pull a dummy shot and wipe the basket. Grind 20g, distribute then tamp with firm consistent pressure each time. I warm up the shot glass then insert and pre infuse for 7 seconds and my output is 30g within 28-35 seconds.

Normally that works fine for me. Today though it was astringent, bitter and had a terrible aftertaste for hours. Not even milk and sugar could mask it. So I went finer and finer but still terrible. I did clean the machine and adjusted my grind setting to 3A and that seemed to do the trick... for now!

I am surprised how frequently I have to adjust. One day on the setting it's great but the next day same setting it doesn't taste the same. I've only been using an espresso machine for 3 weeks and I hope it'll get easier to dial in shots. I'm wasting so much of my beans. :(

Edited to add... I forgot to mention. I'm using local beans that I get every 2 weeks. They say it's a medium dark roast. My dad's friend who is a real espresso aficionado says that the outside of the bean is "scorched" while the inside is still light. Maybe it's partly the bean?