Need help fixing espresso that I THINK is over extracted

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
MochaMike

#1: Post by MochaMike »

So I've been experimenting with espresso for the past two years. I don't know if I made that much progress, but I'm not giving up. I used to have a gaggia classic pro, but I tried adding a PID to it and I had complications. Anyway, I sold it and now I have a Lelit Anna 2 with the PID already built in. I'm not someone who likes tinkering with machines, so I think the Lelit was a better deal for me, despite the 57 mm portafilter. My grinder is a baratza sette 270.

Anyway, now I'm using a light-medium roasted coffee, and I think I keep tasting over extraction. tastes kinda bitter and not much acidity.

I'm dosing 17.5 grams and using a 1:2 ratio in about 30 seconds. Do you guys know what I can do to improve the taste? Maybe go coarser since I'm not getting enough of those fruity flavors? Should I dose more? The PID was at 94 degrees...

any help would be appreciated!

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

I don't know how light your "light" is. Some roasters' "light" is my "medium". Mainstream coffee "medium" is my "dark".

For what I call light roasts (like "drip" roasts), of good quality greens and roasted well, it's hard to over extract them. There isn't much, if any roast bitterness or other defects to pull out. The shots get thinner, but generally not "nasty". With lighter roasts, going until the stream starts to go translucent is reasonably common.

I'd first start by upping the ratio and seeing how it tastes, without changing the grind. You might find that gets you much closer. When dominating the shot, sour and bitter can be easily confused.

DamianWarS
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by DamianWarS »