Naked portafilter practice with old-ish Illy coffee?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Illyfex

#1: Post by Illyfex »

I'm new to the naked portafilter and am going through a lot of good coffee trying to get my technique right. My main problems seem to be a flow that starts evenly, but at the edges of the basket (rather than uniformly across the screen) and mini spritzers that don't seal off (gotta wear safety glasses when watching a pour).

These seem to be mechanical problems (dosing/distribution/tamping), so I thought it might be beneficial to use some of that Illy coffee that comes with the art cups to practice with. I'm not looking for crazy crema, tiger striping and the like (or even a drinkable shot). I'd like to see that very even start and no crazy sprays.

I generally dose a double at 16.5 grams, so I've been weighing 25g into the triple basket. After tamping, the top of the puck is just below the retaining ring. SO...back to the original question, given the problems cited above, do you think using the Illy coffee (essentially free, consistently ground, but probably stale) would allow me to correct these problems?

TimEggers

#2: Post by TimEggers »

No. You'll learn nothing from old coffee. Nothing.
Tim Eggers
http://www.facebook.com/TimEggers
LMWDP #202

Urnex: 100% dedicated focus on coffee and tea cleaning
Sponsored by Urnex
zin1953

#3: Post by zin1953 »

Illyfex wrote:...back to the original question, given the problems cited above, do you think using the Illy coffee (essentially free, consistently ground, but probably stale) would allow me to correct these problems?
Dave? Tim is correct: the only thing you learn from using old stale coffee is how to use old stale coffee. Don't waste your time. Throw it out. Get fresh coffee.

Cheers,
Jason
A morning without coffee is sleep. -- Anon.

another_jim
Team HB

#4: Post by another_jim »