Lost Dialing-In Espresso

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Sweet_Action

#1: Post by Sweet_Action »

Hi Everyone,

I know there's a post like this all time but I'm looking for a bit of help with chasing a decent shot.

I'm relatively new to espresso at home and I've been trying to perfect my process of dialing-in with my equipment[BDB & DF83]. I've started trying to dial-in Eclipse by Onyx Coffee Lab, roasted on 2/3/23, using the Breville stock 18-19g double basket in the 58mm Normcore bottomless portafilter. Temperature [200F] and pre-infusion [7s] are stock on the machine. I did let it pre-heat to the desired temp with the portafilter inside the group to also be heated and only removed to prep the puck after wiping it dry.

Puck Prep:
1. Weigh 18g and ensure 18g out of the grinder, hitting the bellow 2-3 times right as the flow starts to lessen to keep any possible re-grinding to a minimum.
2. Transfer grounds to the portafilter from the dosing cup and WDT (Crema WDT w/3 needles) in small circles, counterclockwise, from bottom to top to break-up any clumps until the top is evenly distributed.
3. Tamp with the Normcore spring tamper w/15lbs spring installed.

Shot Diagnosis:
1. Grind Setting: 25 / 18g in -> 46g out; 30s; sour and some channeling
2. Grind Setting: 20 / 18g in -> 8g out; 30s; horrible and basket choked
3. Grind Setting 23 / 18g in -> 46g out; 30s; less sour
4. Grind setting 22 / 18g in -> 43g out; 30s; less sour
5. Grind setting 21 / 18g in -> 10g out; 30s; horrible and basket choked