Light roasted espresso confusion: turbo shots, fine grind, extraction pressure

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
chef_de_partie

#1: Post by chef_de_partie »

Hey all,

I'm just getting into exploring very fruit/citrus-forward SO espressos, and I've seen two different recommendations to chasing that fruity acidity:
1) traditionally, people here recommend grinding finer, using a longer ratio, and brewing hotter
or
2) some roasters (including Onyx) have recommended espresso recipes of ~1:2.5 pulling in 22-24 seconds (which lends itself to coarser grinds, higher flow, and lower pressures)

In my personal experience, I've found that there are some light roasted SO espresso shots I liked the best at 1:3 in ~20s

My main question is what is the difference between these two types of approaches?
I understand the "traditional" turbo shot can also yield high extraction, so are these just two different ways of reaching high extraction? Is this just because lower pressures reduce uneven extraction? Why are longer ratios typically recommended when fruit flavors are extracted earlier?

Sorry if any of this is confusing, I feel like my brain hurts from trying to think about all the variables that go into espresso flavor :?

Jake_G
Team HB

#2: Post by Jake_G »

Hey Kevin,

Welcome to HB!

The short answer is "Do what you like."

The long answer is "It depends."

But basically there are lots and lots of ways to explore the extraction space. Finer grinds require better puck prep and/or other means to prevent channeling (puck filters, CNC baskets, long preinfusion, etc...) and turbo shots achieve high extraction by flooding the puck with fresh solvent. Both approaches work.