Light roast espresso with the Niche Zero

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
FineGrinder

#1: Post by FineGrinder »

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to espresso (~6 months experience) and I have a Decent DE1 and Niche Zero in my setup and I have been really struggling with dialling in lighter roast espressos.

The issue I have is that my espressos taste quite sour and under-extracted no matter what I do. I start my dialling in process by following the roaster's recommendation if they have one, otherwise, I will start a light roast aiming for a 1:2.5 in ~30s at 93-96ºC on the default profile and make adjustments from there.

Once I am in the ballpark of the right numbers, my espressos still taste sharp, sour, and under-extracted. At this point, if I adjust my variables to increase extraction e.g. grinding even finer to >35s times, going above 96ºC, pulling longer at 1:3, etc. the espressos become quite astringent, even through milk.

I have tried throwing the kitchen sink at it to increase my extraction by using paper filters with a finer grind, more advanced profiles like blooming, etc. and these all make a difference but I'm still stuck between sour or astringent and I'm still struggling to replicate the espressos produced at local specialty coffee shops.

I stumbled across some comments here where people have commented on how the Niche Zero isn't really suited for lighter roast espresso because of its PSD and I'm finally beginning to question whether it's the style of the grinder/burrs not being suited to lighter roasts. I have no trouble dialling in more traditional medium-dark roasts to taste great but anything light with acidity is either too sour or suddenly becomes astringent with seemingly no sweet spot in between.

For additional info, I use Third Wave Water (espresso profile), WDT, paper filter, and a puck screen too.

I'd appreciate any help. Thanks.

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

What is "light" for you?