Lelit Bianca profiles diary

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
kidloco

#1: Post by kidloco »

Hey, I was thinking we should have one place for exchanging our experiences and pressure profiles for different coffees we try on our Bianca's.

Feel free to jump in with suggestions but I think it should look something like this:

Coffee: (origin, farm etc)
Roast level:
Dose in:
Output:
Pressure profile during the shot:
Additional information: like baskets, grinder maybe...
Resulting cup description:

I will try to start something this afternoon, but I am just a beginner so we will see how that goes

kidloco (original poster)

#2: Post by kidloco (original poster) »

Coffee: Columbia Risaralda
Roast level:medium, medium-light
Dose in:17g
Output:28g
Pressure profile during the shot: Started full pressure 10 bar with paddle slightly opened, first drops after 10s, moved back to 8 for the next 15g, then gradually moved back to 4
Additional information: IMS 12-18g, Niche
Resulting cup description: Balanced but a little bit aggressive, medium to light body

This cup made me think: how do we start with the new coffee? Should we first dial in 25-30s 1:2 shot with a fully open paddle-like standard E61 and go from there? Do we maybe compensate for the slower maximum flow and say yes but for Bianca, that shot would more be into 30-40s? Early adopters do you already have your go-to start profiles for certain origin or roast level?

I never had more questions about espresso :)

Advertisement

#3: Post by kidloco (original poster) »

Wow what did just happen!

I am thinking about the previous post, and how there is so many possibilities and ways to experiment...and see at the back of my shelf jar with around 100gr of Kenya,Kiambu I bought and never managed to dial into my likings, then got another bag of coffee and forgot about it. I will say this coffee is sitting in a jar for 2 months!

Coffee: Kenya, Kiambu