Latte Heart Size

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
DerSchoeneBahnhof

#1: Post by DerSchoeneBahnhof »

Hi all,

Latte newbie here. I upgraded to a new machine (Breville Barista Express) end of July and trying to learn latte heart.

I am somewhat consistent at steaming, however I often get the milk to sink more instead of expanding the heart outward on the surface. Because of this I can't really obtain patterns even by rippling a bit left and right, the heart is too small and plain.

Should I record a video of my steaming and pouring? There must be something I missed, either my milk steaming is not up to snuff, or I am not reaching the right pouring speed / spout proximity.

I am using 2% milk. Cup size is 10 oz. When not using coffee and milk, I practice with used ground beans and Barista Carl's Blend drops.

Thanks!
CG

beans+crumble

#2: Post by beans+crumble »

By no means do I consider myself a latte art expert, but I have been practicing basic designs for a few years now. Some pours are good and some not so good. YouTube is full of some pretty good latte art tutorials (some of my favorite are: Emilee Bryant, Lance Hedrick, Artist Coffee Roasters, Seven Miles Coffee Roasters, & Clive Coffee) check them out if you haven't. In my limited experience small patterns could be from starting your design too late in the cup. Tilt the cup, set up the base (in a 10 oz cup I'd go not more then 1/4 to maybe 1/2 full at the most), and start your design. If you set your base filling up the cup more than 1/2 full there will be no room left to pour a large design. Also, it looks as if your milk might be a little on the thin side... that could be affecting it as well. Try stretching/aerating the milk just a little longer to give it a bit more microfoam. Latte art is frustrating but keep practicing and as long as you've got a tasty drink the art on top in just a little bonus! Good luck

DerSchoeneBahnhof (original poster)