Latte Art Beginner- Unable to find right advice

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
LM03

#1: Post by LM03 »

I've been a rookie barista for a few months and while I can make a consistent taste in my coffee drinks, latte art is a tricky hurdle I'm trying to leap.

My attempts are stalled by problems I recognise, like the right amount of milk to use in my base (too little/too much) and perhaps injecting air too quickly.
However, when I begin to pour even after swirling my espresso and my milk is perfect, my designs end up not travelling across the cup or splashing outwards, like my milk and/or my base was too thin even if neither are true.

All I'm trying to do is get a consistent bulb first before I move into perfecting hearts, but I'm infuriated by my slow going progress due to this confusion.

MNate

#2: Post by MNate »

Pictures would certainly help!

Most of the time I feel like it really is that you don't have the texture of the milk right. If you do, and you drop your pitcher down very close to the surface of the coffee the right thing will pop out on the surface beautifully. Of course then there is the question of how to get that to make nice patterns... but pics?

Advertisement
LM03 (original poster)

#3: Post by LM03 (original poster) »

Ah sorry! Common sense is out of my head rn. This is my latest 'success' from my shift. I'll be sure to take photos of my issues to record them, I had gotten too caught up in my mistakes to photograph them.

blutch

#4: Post by blutch »