La Marzocco Linea Mini changed from 0.8mm to 0.6mm ruby, with 6 bars pressure

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Jacksen

#1: Post by Jacksen »

Hi , i have read a couple of threads in this forum and read strive for tone articles regarding low pressure and low water debit. However i am a relatively amateur home barista and need help extraction the best flavors of coffee possible. So far after dialing down to 6 bars, the taste has declined in comparison with ( 9 bars, 0.6mm pulling for 33s ). My question is , for those who have played with 6 bars 0.6mm what is your usual brewing ratio and time? To get my 1:2 ratio i am pulling close to 45-48 seconds... with the coffee only starting to drip at 10s. My current water debit is 240ml/30s. i still get underextracted ,slight sour coffee at this timing . I dose 18 grams,10kg Eazytamp pressure+ mythos one grinder. Should i raise the pressure to get 250ml/30s? Also,do we essentially get better flavors running on 6 bars , or do we drop to 6 bars so that we can get the flow rate as close to 250ml/30s?
On another notes, my espresso has good crema and tiger stripping but it has some bubbles( IS this due to the water i am using?)
Thank you in advance for the responses.

chris_n

#2: Post by chris_n »

there really isn't a one-size-fits-all formula for making good espresso. what tastes great at 6bar to someone else (with their choice of coffee, grinder, water) might not taste so great to someone else. etc

the numbers you are listing sound within the ballpark of what i consider to be good tasting espresso, so maybe it comes down to a matter of preference.

edit: i just saw your equipment list. you're using a great grinder that is more than capable of ideal extractions within the numbers you are providing. lastly, what coffee are you using?

if you find that you're enjoying the coffee more at 9 bar, perhaps that is where you should be at for the type of flavors you're after!

Peppersass
Supporter ❤