Is using multiple baskets even possible?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks.
Maxcheese

#1: Post by Maxcheese »

Hey guys!

As a newbie, I bought 15g, 20g and 25g VST baskets thinking I would go back and forth between them to pull ristrettos, standard doubles and huge 50g for big lattes.

However, now that I'm acquiring a little experience, I find that whenever I swith baskets, I have to dial in whole new grind settings everytime. This is very time consuming and I end up wasting a lot of beans. Those baskets are definitely not in the same ballpark yield-wise.

Lets say I get the perfect 1:2 ratio for my 20g basket and pull 40g out, I end up with somwthing like 25g out for the 25g basket in like 40 sec, which tastes awful and on the opposite ,I get around 35g for the 15g in not even 20 secs.

So... I ended up ditching both the 15g and 25g and instead keep concentrating on pulling great 40g doubles all the time, even if i'd like something a little stronger for espresso sometimes...

Did enybody ever experimented with this? I'm curious about your techniques!

Cheers!

jmotzi

#2: Post by jmotzi »

The different size baskets have different depths to accommodate different amounts of coffee. As the dose increases, the coffee bed will be thicker. Thicker bed = more pressure required to push the water through = different result. Therefore the grind setting from one to another cannot be carried over to expect similar results.

Similarly, if you try putting 15g in a 25g basket, you will get a different result than using a 15g in a 15g basket because the headspace above the coffee will now be increased. The coffee puck is setting lower/higher to the shower screen. The geometry of the system is changed. The different size baskets allow you to use more or less coffee - that's all - you still have to dial in the grind for whatever setup you're using. The basket sizes are meant for different amounts of coffee (rated amount plus/minus 1-2g).