Is it the grind?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks.
jeremya

#1: Post by jeremya » Feb 23, 2009, 7:39 pm

Hey all... my first post here, though I've been lurking for a few weeks, reading everything I can get my eyeballs on, watching the videos, etc., all in anticipation of the arrival of my first espresso machine: a gently used 2008 Rancilio Silvia (w/ Watlow SD3C PID installed). I have no prior experience as a barista... so what follows is a total n00b tale.

Miss Silvia arrived last friday and I experimented all weekend pulling shots of freshly ground espresso roast from my local Tully's. I had them grind it on what they called their "pump" setting, which is very fine, not powder, but only slightly grainy. Clumps a little, but nothing a bit of WDT can't solve.

My first few pucks in a ridgeless double basket had too little coffee* and weren't tamped nearly hard enough: they broke apart quickly under pressure. Let's just say after I got coffee in my eye (and everywhere else) a second time, I stopped using the bottomless portafilter and spent another hour reading about extraction problems and tamping techniques.

Now I've got my tamping down pretty well. I had a long conversation on the phone with the previous owner of the machine for some advice about this particular Silvia and the tampers, baskets, and PFs he'd sold me. Having examined my more recent pucks post-ejection, I'm pretty happy with their solidarity -- they don't crumble out of the PF into the trash leaving bits of dreck in the basket -- instead they come out much as a single, solid puck with only a few grains of coffee left behind. So I feel I'm making progress there.