Is aftertaste normal with espresso?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Ken5

#1: Post by Ken5 »

I understand that aftertaste could be due to an astringent shot, but do you get a slightly lingering aftertaste with your good espresso shots?

I am fairly new to making espresso, got my Robot very end of September. I have been enjoying most of my shots, nice flavors and nice texture, though usually there is a slight aftertaste that lingers on a bit. Not the same kind of aftertaste as when I make an astringent shot, more like a normal coffee taste. The other day I went to a restaurant where I was getting my favorite shots prior to getting the robot to compare to what I have been getting at home. I have to say I was really disappointed in their shot! I guess I should be happy as that probably means I might be doing something right. :) It seemed bland and very thin, actually wondered if I got coffee instead, which I didn't. I noticed there was no aftertaste and sort of really appreciated that though!

So, I am wondering if there is something that I could do to improve my shots, or if it is normal to have a slight lingering aftertaste.

Ken

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Nunas »

IMHO, emphatically, yes. My best shots always have a pleasant aftertaste, and I sometimes have lingering aftertaste with my shots, which I relish. And, I share your experience with poor coffee shop shots; except to be sociable, I rarely go anymore, as the excellent ones are rare where I live.

Jeff
Team HB

#3: Post by Jeff »

"Finish" is often used to describe the flavor sensations after the liquid is gone.

jpender

#4: Post by jpender »

Yes, aftertaste often has a negative connotation. But lingering flavors, hopefully good ones, after you finish a shot is a desirable feature, at least I think so.

JohnB.
Supporter ♡

#5: Post by JohnB. »

I've had pleasant aftertastes from nice shots that linger on for several hours. I definitely consider it a plus.
LMWDP 267