If espresso is a little over extracted- do you decrease shot time or grind coarser first?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
mbroder

#1: Post by mbroder »

Newbie here, working with a light roast, shots are a bit over extracted. Yield was 1:2.2 at about 28 seconds.

I know grinding coarser will run the water quicker so it will reach my yield quicker, but since the last shot hit this ratio at 28 seconds, would you first run the same grind and see what 24 seconds tastes like or would you first try a coarser grind as the next step?

cafeIKE

#2: Post by cafeIKE »

How long is a piece of string?

Question is unanswerable.

Sometimes all four at the same time: dose, grind, time and temperature.

Jeff
Team HB

#3: Post by Jeff »

What are you tasting that makes you think the shot is over-extracted?

What roaster? "Light" is a loose term and your "light" may be my "medium dark". A well-roasted medium-light or lighter is very hard to "over-extract". They mainly get watered down if you go longer than needed.

espressoren

#4: Post by espressoren »

Not sure there is one right answer, interested in seeing what people say.

I think it depends on how far off you think you are and other aspects of the shot. If the shot seems "mostly there" then sure, drop two seconds from the shot time or and see what that does. Or add half a gram to the dose.

Absent channeling or prep issues at fault, if it seems a bit over extracted at 1:2.2 I'd try for 1:2, and that may mean grinding finer if you want to keep the same shot time. If you go coarser it will be counter to reaching 1:2, you will have higher flow through the puck and need to reduce your shot time as well to compensate.

I think the counterintuitive thing is we think about finer grinds being easier to extract, and if we are over extracted already then going finer seems wrong. However, reducing the amount of water through the puck is also important if we are trying to reduce extraction.