Ideal Puck Saturation?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Tony163

#1: Post by Tony163 »

I am a newbie who had believed a perfectly uniform, dry puck was a sign of a well pulled shot. My machine (an R91) doesn't yield dry pucks no matter what I do. They are typically highly saturated, occasionally even soupy. I almost never get channeling. Conceptually it would seem like a highly saturated puck would be incompatible with channeling.

I am now wondering if a dry puck is to be desired for any reason. Perhaps it is a mythology and a wet puck actually conduces to a more evenly distributed shot?

Would appreciate any thoughts on the topic. Ty

Kaffee Bitte

#2: Post by Kaffee Bitte »

Never used an e61 machine, but from this forum I remember seeing LOTS of posts about soupy pucks. It seems that e61s tend towards wet pucka at end. Especially when down dosing. What size basket and dose are you using?

Try dosing to get just a little space between the puck and shower screen.
Lynn G.
LMWDP # 110

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by Nunas »

As far as I know, there's no relationship between puck wetness and results in the cup. I agree with Lynn, up dosing a bit on an e61 will usually result in a drier puck. The only reason I like a drier puck is ease of cleaning. To that end, I up dose, and I use sintered metal puck filters for every shot. As with puck wetness, I believe that there's no benefit in the cup from using a puck filter, although some claim that it may reduce channeling. There are threads here on H-B on puck filters.

Tony163 (original poster)

#4: Post by Tony163 (original poster) »

Thanks for the feedback. Just seems like a wetter puck relieves some of the pressure on quality of puck prep...

Auctor

#5: Post by Auctor »