How's my espresso?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
coffeenoob123

#1: Post by coffeenoob123 »

Hi guys. Relative coffee newbie here, be easy on me! I hope this is the right forum for this sort of question.

I've had a Rancilio Silvia for a while and I've made what I think are decent espresso shots but I'd like to get some feedback. I read that getting a bottomless portafilter helps you see what's going on in the shot and make adjustments accordingly but I can't quite read it. I took a video and I was hoping to get some feedback -- how does this shot of espresso look to those that know what to look for?

Anything obviously wrong? How can I improve my results?

Espresso machine: Rancilio Silvia
Grinder: Baratza Vario
Water: Brita-filtered NYC tap water
Beans: La Colombe Monte Carlo decaf (am I already lame for doing decaf? It's getting late!)

Thank you!

Randy G.

#2: Post by Randy G. »

Well.. invite us all over for a taste and we will let you know..
Seriously, it is a food product- it is the taste that matters.

Grind finer. It began it a big hurry. Only one sprite.. not bad prep at all for a newbie from what I saw.
EspressoMyEspresso.com - 2000-2023 - a good run, its time is done

emradguy
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by emradguy »

I agree with Randy, on both points...only can really tell by tasting it, and you need to grind a tad finer.

I imagine the shot was on the sour side. Grinding finer will increase resistance, slowing down the flow and prolonging the extraction, and increase the level of extraction of the grinds. If you go too far, it'll taste bitter.
LMWDP #748

coffeenoob123 (original poster)

#4: Post by coffeenoob123 (original poster) »

Thank you both! I'll give a finer grind a shot.

DamianWarS

#5: Post by DamianWarS »

coffeenoob123 wrote:I read that getting a bottomless portafilter helps you see what's going on in the shot and make adjustments accordingly but I can't quite read it.