How to achieve a great espresso with a non pressurized basket

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
mateomazzini

#1: Post by mateomazzini »

Hi, I am just getting started with non pressurized baskets and I am choking my machine.
I am working with a Breville Infuser and a Smart grinder pro and I just don't get if I am failing at a point in the process or my coffee beans are just wrong or what.
This is what I am doing: grind fresh beans on a setting from 7 to 20. tamping with some strength, using the razor to achieve the right level of coffee in the basket, and polishing with the tamp. Doing so, I find it very hard not to choke my machine. Could I be overtamping? could it be the coffee beans?
I was assuming that the infuser would easily pull a shot from a grind as fine as 7. Would that be possible or should I grind coarser for this machine?

happycat

#2: Post by happycat »

Why not weigh your beans? The basket will be rated for a weight. Maybe you are packing in too much.
LMWDP #603

BaristaBob

#3: Post by BaristaBob »

mateomazzini wrote:Hi, I am just getting started with non pressurized baskets and I am choking my machine.
I am working with a Breville Infuser and a Smart grinder pro and I just don't get if I am failing at a point in the process or my coffee beans are just wrong or what.
This is what I am doing: grind fresh beans on a setting from 7 to 20. tamping with some strength, using the razor to achieve the right level of coffee in the basket, and polishing with the tamp. Doing so, I find it very hard not to choke my machine. Could I be overtamping? could it be the coffee beans?
I was assuming that the infuser would easily pull a shot from a grind as fine as 7. Would that be possible or should I grind coarser for this machine?
Welcome Mateo!