How does ideal espresso brewing time change with different dosages?

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Dalemia

#1: Post by Dalemia »

Hi everyone! Two weeks ago I got my first espresso machine for my birthday and ever since I have watched tons of videos and practiced a bunch. However, there is something that is not quite clear to me.

Everywhere I see that the ideal brewing time would be about 20-35 seconds for your double shot espresso (14 to 22 grams of ground beans). I assume it's because I don't have a too fancy machine, but my portafilter is only 50 mm and therefore my double shot espresso is only 10 grams of ground beans.

Therefore, I am not sure for how many seconds I should aim. I get that it also has to do with volume and the color of the shot, but as a beginner i think it's also nice to have the amount of time as a guideline. :)

Should I just aim for around 10-15 seconds? Is there any kind of difficult math formula involved in this? Lol

Appreciate any help! Thank you :)

MacchiatoDan

#2: Post by MacchiatoDan »

I would still aim for 25-30 seconds and use weight in, weight out to initially set your grind size. I would do 1:2 (10g beans, 20g espresso shot by weight) at first, then very as needed from there based on taste (I.e. If bitter or sour).

iploya

#3: Post by iploya »

Yeah, no formula. Generally you will select a dose (e.g. 18g) and brew ratio (e.g. 1:2), keep those constant, and dial in around that by changing your other parameters. Usually your grind setting is the most basic parameter to adjust for a given dose and brew ratio to find the right balance between sour (too short) and bitter (too long). So your brew time is experimentally determined.